2003-12-17

11:34 a.m.


Swordsman 7th (Re-Review)

Read This Diary

Since this is the first re-review I've ever written here, I'm going to take the time to lay down some of my personal ground rules. First of all, if you've requested a second review from me, you'd better prepared to go through a very, very thorough review process. I believe the first review is a preliminary chance for me to gauge the work in general, and I feel that by giving you a second chance, a person should be able to fix nearly all mistakes and blow me away with improvements. I'm going to judge more scrupulously and be particularly picky on certain items that I may have vented about in the first review. While I will try not to score re-reviews any less than they recieved the first time around, there isn't any guarantee that you'll walk away with your head up high. If anyone happens to be unsatisfied with my approach, I'm sorry, but that's the way the cookie crumbles.

Whew! With all that said, I'm off my soapbox. On to the review!

CONTENT 45/70
I congratulate you on narrowing the focus of your diary so that it includes only your memoirs from your study at Harlaxton. All of that jumping around between the past and present was really grating on my nerves, and it made it hard to come up with any sort of time continuum. There were no more impromptu descriptions of "The Naked Chef," or "The West Wing," to be found." For this, I thank you.

This time around, I finally got a grasp of your sense of humor. While it's dry (You learned this from the English, perhaps?), it was enough to make me chuckle silently in my head. Subtle hints like these let me know that you're finally willing to let your personality leak through your entries. Don't stonewall yourself from your readers, they like to know about your vulnerabilities, your strengths, and your accomplishments, too. Being a "real" person in cyberspace is difficult, but possible.

I'm thinking that you might also want to try adding a "cast" page, just because it gets a bit confusing as to the various names and places mentioned in your travels. If you mapped this out, I'm sure things would be much clearer.

STYLE 7/10
About a step away from your former "text-book" approach, but still heavy on day-logging. You need to work on cutting away some of the fat in your entries, since you tend to overwhelm people with lots of minute details and facts at a single time. Try writing the gist about what happened on a particular day, and worry less about the he said/she said fare that plagues most people's diaries. For women (I don't know about men), this is pretty much stall talk, the kind of stuff you say to a person when you don't have much else to offer. At the end of the day, most people don't really remember these conversations, and hardly anyone cares enough about them to permanently lodge them in their memory. Please don't reserve yourself with this kind of day-log material, you could be so much better than that. Give me the low-carb, high fat meat portion of your diary, so I can skip over all the light filler.

DESIGN 7/10
Wow... You've taken my advice about your assortment of pictures, too! It makes a big difference when they're all organized and captioned in some kind of concise, and related manner, don't you think? Before, all of your photographs were just inserted all willy-nilly, and they were downright distracting. Seeing random pictures scattered about a diary is about as interesting as watching all two thousand slides of your Great Aunt Mathilda's trip to the Ozarks. I'm so glad you fixed this.

I've only given you seven points, however, because I think that this original Diaryland template doesn't really suit the feel of your entries anymore. You need something a bit more complimentary and lively, and one that will contain your entries in some kind of neat, left-justified column. Speaking of which, why are all of your paragraphs centered? There really isn't any need for it. If you either found an appropriate layout, or scaled down the size of your top image, I think you could manage getting everything to become left-justified. You've also added a few new diaryrings since I've last visited, and they're just now starting to clutter up the space at the bottom of your diary. Do yourself a favor and give them a separate page. You never know just how many rings you'll end up joining, so it'll probably end up for the best.

NAVIGATION 5/5
It's one of Andrew's classic Diaryland templates, so of course, it's easier than sleeping in on a Sunday morning.

FREQUENCY 3/5
Ehhh... It's been off and on since I last reviewed you. You deleted most, if not all of the previous entries, so there really isn't anything else for me to start from. And why are all the dates out of order? Did you change them yourself? I couldn't tell what was going on.

posted by April at 11:34 a.m.
last entry / next entry


Opal Reviews
Contact
About
Exits
Thanks