2003-11-06

10:40 a.m.


Apple Twist

Read This Diary

CONTENT 50/70
For the most part, I was entertained with your entries. You seem like an intelligent girl who has obviously left the pre-teenie bopper emotions behind (Yes!!!). I enjoyed your (short) rant about men. They're just not that easy to figure out. You're also a media freak, which is cool, since I am, too. And Britney Spears? I agree, she's way too vampy. But enough about her... I learned a decent amount about you through your 100 things page which was good, but not necessarily different. I see of a lot of those nowadays, and most people don't do anything to break the mold.

Alas, every now and then, I found that you gave me some typical day-log entries. Now don't get me wrong, there isn't necessarily anything wrong with writing an occasional day-log update, but it's quite another thing when that's all a person ever thinks to write about. As a reader, I want to know less about what kind of soup you might be eating, and more about how you felt during the day. What got you happy? What pissed you off? What makes you want to do cartwheels? Give me some more oomph, you know?

Your spelling was usually passable, but I did manage to find a bucket of mistakes in your latest entry: "Eifel Tower," is missing an extra letter f, and "escargo" needs a silent t at the end. And last time I checked, it was Cirque du Soleil playing in Vegas, not its sloppy cousin, "Cirque du Soleia." I do hope you'll pardon my French, darling, but I'm a stickler for proper translations. Six and a half years of French grammar'll do that to a person.

Other mishaps include: "vollunteer," Cape Kanaveral," "Kujo," "broadway" (Capitalization is a must!), and "Fur Elyse." Sheesh! All of that was in the same entry. A Mr. Speak and Spell could wind up being one of your most prized possessions.

STYLE 7/10
Pretty average word choice and descriptions. I found myself interested in your diary because I identified with your personality (I'm sure we'd be close friends if we happened to live in the same area), but there wasn't anything that seemed uniquely you. Keep working on that, I feel as though you could eventually leave everyone else's diary in the dust.

DESIGN 9/10
I have to admit, I'm a little partial to this design, just because it looks like the key lime pie version of my own lemony layout. Citrus is a very fine thing, my dear. Good choice.

NAVIGATION 3/5
Navigating around your main page was easy enough, but whenever I tried browsing through your archives, your older page was just uh... "wiggedy, wiggedy, whack." (That's right, I said it. There's nothing wrong with busting out a little old school Kriss-Kross every now and then.) Everytime I scrolled down, the page would refresh itself and force me to start scrolling down all over again. I managed to override this by clicking my browser's "Stop" button, but it was still a little annoying. Please check your design scripts and fix this ASAP. You also need to archive your entries, since everything since July is running head over heels into November. If you don't feel as though you have enough entries to bother doing this, at least organize them so that a person could get a chronological feel for your updates.

FREQUENCY 4/5
Pretty good, about every other day or so. A person could read your diary without wondering if you've taken a vacation to Mars. Your updates were kind of sporadic this past summer, but you made up for it as soon as school got back in the swing of things. Not that I blame you; it happens to the best of us.

posted by April at 10:40 a.m.
last entry / next entry


Opal Reviews
Contact
About
Exits
Thanks