2003-10-28

12:22 p.m.


Zamorak

Read This Diary

CONTENT 15/70
It was pretty bad all around, my friend. I can't even begin to describe the horrors I found locked within your diary. Lots of them just have to do with common sense things. For instance, it does not take "ruffly 10-13 months for a child to be born." Last I checked, it was a solid nine months, buddy. Looks like somebody needs to brush up on his sex-education. And if you're going to crack on religion (which is a touchy subject), make sure you've got some bonefide facts to back it up. I hate it when I hear people rant on and on about how they can't believe that Christians/Jews/Muslims/Buddhists/Atheists, etc don't believe in (fill in the blank) when they don't have any proof to back it up. If you've got facts, show 'em to me. Otherwise, keep your uninformed opinions to yourself.

Your spelling comes and goes, but that really doesn't do much to keep me interested. Half the time, I don't even know what you're talking about, so I kind of droned in and out. You had the chance to make something special out of this entry about popularity, but you just let it sink. I saw you had blackmartha listed as one of your favorite diarists, which is ironic. Martha is great at taking little, miniscule things and turning them into hilarious adventures. You, however, did the absolute opposite. You told short, irrelevant stories that said zilch about your personality. Don't bore people with dishwater entries and expect them to be enthralled by your writing, because they won't. End of story.

STYLE 1/10
I found you trite, ignorant, and flat-out boring. Did I leave anything out?

DESIGN 1/10
Come on, now. You didn't really think I was going to give you full points for this poor excuse for a layout... Did you? I'm really, really hoping that you didn't design this yourself. It's pathetic; with little to no organization or thought. I know that we're not here to make major critiques on layouts and design, but this really takes the cake for one of the poorest efforts I've ever seen. Who told you that cursor trails were cool? Believe me, they're not. They only cause confusion for the people who are actually interested in the content of your diary--you're not impressing anyone at all. I do believe the general Internet population stopped using those back in '99, so I suggest you get with the program.

Your archives page doesn't even match your regular layout. I'm sorry to see that you borrowed it from from Sazzy Designs, one of Diaryland's best layout artists. The whole thing looks trashed and out of control. You ought to sit down right now and write her a letter of apology, because no one deserves to have their designs used in such a horrible way. Honestly, what were you thinking?

Listen, there are plenty of great designers out there. You've already hit up on Sazzy Designs, so I'm guessing that you must know about (overly-used) initiatives like Beautify. Please, please, PLEASE check these pages out. The designers here (usually) know what they're doing, and can keep you from embarrassing yourself, like you have here.

NAVIGATION 1/5
Trying to navigate through your diary is really like dancing around a field chock-full of cow pies: It's nearly impossible. The links are scattered God-knows where, and nothing seems to be in order. The colors aren't eye-catching, and anything that my mouse managed to hover over was clouded by that infernal trailing cursor. On your archives pages, you haven't even listed the months in the correct order. I always thought the months were ordered as July, August, September, and October; not August, July, September October. Pull out a calendar, maybe it'll help.

FREQUENCY 1/5
You seemed to have been somewhat dedicated back in
July, but you died out as soon as August rolled around. Not a good sign.

posted by April at 12:22 p.m.
last entry / next entry


Opal Reviews
Contact
About
Exits
Thanks