2003-10-06

9:58 p.m.


Pnk Monki 213

Read This Diary

CONTENT 15/70

so.. i went to work today. it sucked. then came home and made some food. um then i went online and read some diaries. some of them sucked! really bad!! lol. now i'm going to go do something else.

Look at the paragraph above. It is a parody. Get that? A parody. If I ever, ever, EVER write like that and mean it, shoot me through the head. Like in a zombie movie when one of the main characters gets chomped on by one of the shambling brain-eating undead�just POW, take me out. Make it quick. My family would understand, and you can be sure I would've wanted it that way.

Shall we run down the list of grammatical conventions this diary ignores? Yes, we shall! Why else would I have asked a rhetorical question? I have no idea!

  • No capitalization
  • Whacked-out spelling
  • Absent apostrophes
  • Seemingly random use of ellipses (...)
  • Bizarre or irritating contractions ("ab" for "about," "ppl" for "people," "w" for "with," etc.)

Argh. It's like having an interminable instant messaging session with a 15-year-old you don't care about and who doesn't do anything interesting. Just "here's what I did today with people you don't know that I don't bother to flesh out or explain" until you want to go crawl under the covers and cry.

Occasionally an entry will have a cute little moment. It's a sad, sad thing when "precious and saccharine" is an improvement, but hey, it's something.

STYLE 3/10

Hrrrm. It's awfully cutesy, but at least I won't mistake it for anyone else's. And I admit that the long string of "P.S." notes at the bottom of many of the entries are, well, kinda cute.

DESIGN 7/10

Uhh... there are two templates, one for entries and one for archives. Individually, they're pretty good (the sushi one is adorable), but they don't mesh at all. When I clicked on the link to the archives, I thought I'd goofed and gone to an entirely different diary. That's confusing and downright weird.

NAVIGATION 5/5

Your templates are pretty well-organized. Nice job picking them out. Now settle on one.

FREQUENCY 5/5

Almost daily. Not bad.

posted by April at 9:58 p.m.
last entry / next entry


Opal Reviews
Contact
About
Exits
Thanks