2003-11-19

5:14 p.m.


Mathilde

Read This Diary

CONTENT 35/70
I'll be honest and say that the majority of the time I spent here was boring. Very boring. Like an evening of charades with Ben Stein boring. Come on, now. What's so interesting about wearing a skirt for three days straight, huh? And what's all this about the color blue? I thought this entry was going to be poetic or thoughtful, but I ended up getting confused. However, I did like reading about your mother's gradual acceptance of rap music. Being American, I didn't even know there even was such a thing over in Norway (Is that where you're from?). That's too funny! But one of the best entries by far was the one about your father. It was totally relatable, because the same thing happened to my (former) best friend at about the same age. Tough stuff.

I take it that English is not your first language, because there were a horrendous amount of simple spelling mistakes. Whatever happened to the classic rule of "I before E, except after C?" That ought to be your daily mantra. If you've got an English spell-checker on your computer, use it! It can't hurt you!

STYLE 5/10
Most of the entries were flat and tasteless, they lacked genuine spark. Stop writing entry after entry about being sick and start writing something that will keep me awake. Honestly, I'd love to see you write something that causes me to think pensively, or maybe even silently laugh at my own mistakes. Simply writing things like, "Gee, I was sick today," isn't going to cut it. I want to see your personality splattered all over the page--got it?

DESIGN 5/10
From what I could see, this is a very plain Jane layout. What's with all the gray? I mean, it works for some, but most people need to steer clear of this kind of color scheme. It's so drab and morose, and your personality doesn't really seem to reflect that. That doesn't mean that I want you to run out and find the brightest, most sickeningly sweet and happy layout there is; I'd just like to see a dash of color or movement here and there. Points have also been docked because I can't see the image to the left. At first I thought that maybe your server was down, so I gave you some extra time to see if you could work it out. Unfortunately, it just looks as though you've got a broken image link. Check your layout's code to make sure you've typed it in correctly.

NAVIGATION 2/5
What happened to the archives page? Your entries from August are lined up with those from November, and your two "older" pages have incorrect links, which didn't help me when reading any of your older entries. In fact, I had to keep clicking the "previous" button to get to anything written past August 18th.

FREQUENCY 2/5
Kind of irregular... Sometimes you drop out for periods of seven days or more without giving a valid reason as to why. At least tell your readers that you're taking a hiatus because of personal problems/laziness, etc.

posted by April at 5:14 p.m.
last entry / next entry


Opal Reviews
Contact
About
Exits
Thanks