2003-11-20

12:38 a.m.


radiowire

Read This Diary

CONTENT 50/70
I was reading your entries before I left for Boston (I was going on vacation) and when I came back today, I noticed that you completely changed your diary! Since I would have to relearn to navigate, I'm going to cite what I read from memory from the first two times I visited your diary.

You can write. No doubt about it. You can put words together and come up with a creative sentence of sorts. However, most of your diary is quite depressing. I recall reading many entries about how much you hate your mama and how you want to die and so on and so forth. Please don't mistake this (these) comments as insensitivity-- there is only so much depression I can read before my eyes glaze over. A couple of things you must remember is: I like entertaining diaries and I like diaries that make me laugh. So essentially, you can write but you have content that I wouldn't want to read on a long term basis.

You had a page that consisted mostly about you and who you are, which, I really really liked. I can't find it this time around, but I remember telling myself "you like the bio stuff".

Poetry. Not a poetry person. I like poetry from William Carlos Williams, (the red wagon next to the chickens and the wet puddle. Something like that)Sylvia Plath, Ted Hughes and so on and so forth. I think anyone who has a diary thinks they can write poetry. The point of this comment? I suppose unless it's poetry that can blow me the fuck away, I have no interest and I skip to the next entry.

Basically, your diary is well written but I think it focuses on a particular group of individuals who like the darkness [I recall saying you didn't like sunlight]. If you're looking for an mainstream market, your diary probably would be passed over. But who am I? Just a reviewer who doesn't like poetry.

STYLE 7/10
You definitely have style, just not the type I crave.

DESIGN 5/10
I personally liked the old template. This new one is pretty boring.

NAVIGATION 2/5
Grrr...I also preferred your old template. I could navigate to the moon on that one. Took me a while to figure out the tiny slash marks that look like notebook holes were the links. Why, oh, why did you change your diary?

FREQUENCY 2/5
You update, but not a lot. Why did you want a review again?

posted by April at 12:38 a.m.
last entry / next entry


Opal Reviews
Contact
About
Exits
Thanks