2003-10-25

1:42 a.m.


Magpie's Nest

Read This Diary

CONTENT 55/70
Almost every single entry I read for this review starts out great, and then just, well, ends. They seem to cut off mid-thought. Sometimes even the addition of a conclusion sentence, rather than a paragraph, would be helpful. You have a good voice and your entries are interesting, but they almost always leave me wanting more.

STYLE 9/10
You are one link-heavy chica. One suggestion I have is to code your links as follows:

<a href="linkurl" target="new">Linked Site</a>

The idea here is that all your links will open in the same new window, because readers don't like having to go back to the diary they're reading, and reload the page, but that way you don't have forty-thousand new windows opened up.

DESIGN 5/10
Being that your title has the word "shiny" in it, I'd expect something a little less drab. The map title graphic is cool, but I really suggest replacing the grey with maybe an army green or cadet blue or the like, or even white. I am a firm believer that grey does not belong on websites.

NAVIGATION 3/5
You fall victim to a problem I see a lot of here on D-Land: the inconsistent archives page. Your most recent entries read from most to least recent, then your older stuff flip flops, going from least to most recent. It's a pet peeve, and it's an awkward set-up.

FREQUENCY 5/5
With exceptions, we have almost every day. I'm happy.

posted by April at 1:42 a.m.
last entry / next entry


Opal Reviews
Contact
About
Exits
Thanks