2003-09-06

3:25 a.m.


Hilary Jordan

Read This Diary

CONTENT 30/70
GREAT BIG GIANT JAW STRETCHING YAWN. I am bored beyond all belief. I don�t care about your sleeping habits. I don�t care about your friends going to IHOP. I don�t care about your love of volleyball. I really don�t care about your infighting with your teachers. Why? Because you aren�t interesting. At all. Not even a little. Example: You write about learning the electric slide. That could have been damn funny. I remember learning the electric slide. I think I tripped a few million times. I also mowed down this old couple and spent fifteen minutes apologizing profusely while all my friends and my almost but not quite boyfriend watched. See? Even that was a little interesting. Not excessively, but a little. Try describing things in the moment. Describe things in detail. Don�t shove a day log in my face and ask me to enjoy it. Next: I am taking a big step here and assuming you have a computer, right? And I also assume you have a word processor as well. Here�s a thought: SPELLCHECK!!! Also: only e.e. cummings can refuse to use capitalization and punctuation; this is because he�s interesting, and trying to be artistic. You are neither. The letter �I�, when used as a pronoun, as in �I like movies� is capitalized. Always. No matter where you put it in a sentence. I think you�re in high school; renew my faith in mandatory schooling and learn simple grammar. It�s a small request. On to plusses: I did like the inclusion of an opinion page. I admire anyone who posts his or her opinion on the Internet and allows the backlash. If only you were always this cutting edge. Your writing is getting better. Apply for a re-review in a few months with awesome entries like the beginning of this one, delete all the boring crap, and you�re score will probably go up. A little.

STYLE 2 /10
There was STYLE? I SAW NO STYLE! Well that�s a lie. I saw weighty issues like abuse and self-hatred but you never follow through. You seem like you have deep thoughts and you�re hiding them. Honey, this is a diary. If you can�t pour out your feelings, why bother? Your style is lukewarm, and even Jesus promised to spew the lukewarm out of his mouth. I�m not Jesus. I�m spewing like crazy.

DESIGN 8/10
Well, the design� I�m not a fan of cute pictures of kids and animals. However, to be fair, it�s very pretty, and credited. And the dog always knowing how the girl feels. It�s all very touching. Wish your diary was the same.

NAVIGATION 5/5
Your navigation works. It all works very nicely� I have no idea what to say here. You have links. They work. You archive. The archives work. Hooray.

FREQUENCY 5/5
You update often, spilling all the boring drivel of your life on the internet regularly. Yippe-kay-yay. For the love of all that is holy, don�t.

posted by April at 3:25 a.m.
last entry / next entry


Opal Reviews
Contact
About
Exits
Thanks