2003-08-25

3:47 p.m.


Fearless J 10

Read This Diary

CONTENT 55/70
Just a few grammar and usage errors here and there, nothing to get all worked up about.

Feh, I was a little put off by your diatribe about abortion. I think I remember feeling the same way at your age, and while I'd be the last person on earth to devalue anyone's opinion on any subject, keep in mind that the world is a complicated place, and not every issue is always black and white. Okay, I'm off my soapbox. That aside, your tone in that entry was very didactic, and would probably make any fence-sitters run and hide. To your credit, though, if not for age references, I would probably not have known that you were only 14. I liked your entry about the power outages. It gave a perspective I hadn't seen yet. Also, it was kind of funny to read over the next two entries how that idyllic, timeless feeling gave way to frustration and irritation.

STYLE 10/10
I like the "prev" and "next" links. Your style in general shows an attitude, if not wisdom, beyond your years.

DESIGN 8/10
Nice! I like the earth tones; it's a relief on eyes that sometimes see eleven different variations on Gwen Stefani/Avril Lavigne shocking pink/blue/green in the space of one day. On the other hand, I'd say about 40% of your actual page is devoted to the entry. Since it's a diary, I'd see what I could do about modifying the template so you use up some of that blank space in the middle. Not a huge fan of the strikethrough hover. If you insist on using strikethrough, I'd suggest using it on v links. Also, on your "older" page, your line width value needs to be greater than the size of your font; that way, all the titles won't run into each other.

NAVIGATION 3/5
It's all there, it's all compact, bravo! The links on your "last 5" don't show up unless I hover, so while not a huge problem, it's kind of irritating. Problem again on the "older" page, I'm afraid; your current, unarchived entries go in backward order, which is fine, but then your archived stuff goes forward in time. It's just awkward.

FREQUENCY 5/5
Crikes! Sometimes three in one day! I can dig it.

posted by April at 3:47 p.m.
last entry / next entry


Opal Reviews
Contact
About
Exits
Thanks