2004-01-27

12:00 p.m.


elscorcho96

Read This Diary

CONTENT 60/70
You've taken a recent hiatus, which usually dampens my overall take on a diary; but since we here at Opal Reviews have been on a (more or less) permanent hiatus, I'm not going to hold that against you.

I found this diary to be very upfront and down to earth. You don't really hide behind your emotions and feelings, which is exactly what I like to see. Almost everything is to the point, and there's enough of your dark humor to give entries some spark. There's a fair amount of day-logging, but that's to be expected. Everyone does that now and then. All and all, a very solid piece of work.

STYLE 9/10
You're bright and sassy, which is just what I want to see in a good diarist. It keeps people coming back for more. And besides, what's not to like about a girl who dreams of having Pee Wee Herman layout? That killed me.

DESIGN 10/10
Ooh... Great taste in design. With its monochromatic color scheme, this layout has an urban, post-modern feel to it--almost utilitarian, if you will. I love it when people utilize simplicity in their designs, just because it shows that a diary is more content oriented. And this site says just that. No unnecessary frills here. You've also got some great clean straight lines with boxes that just pop right out of the screen for a nice 3-D effect. Niiice... I'm also excited about the little dabs of orange that bring the rest of the gray color scheme to life. When most diarists deal with gray, they overdo it, forgetting that there's way more crayons left in proverbial box. But kudos to you for understanding that monochromatic doesn't have to mean boring. This is definitely one classically simple design. It speaks to me.

NAVIGATION 2/5
Your entire collection of archives led me absolutely nowhere. No joke. Whenever I clicked on any of the links for your "vaulted" entries, all I got was Andrew's classic Diaryland error page. Maybe you made a mistake with the links...? Anyways, it made it very difficult to go through anything that was written in your more active days. One more thing: It could be the overall crappiness of the computer I'm using (God, I hate school computer labs), but half the pages I managed to visit didn't have visible "previous" or "next" links. At first I thought it was just my resolution screwing things over, but I realized that wasn't the case when I headed on over to your extras page. Everything there was working fine. But hey, it looks like you're already working on this problem, so I won't say any more about it.

FREQUENCY 3/5
I don't take points off for hiatuses, simply because I believe in giving credit to people who can admit their own imperfections. Hey, you're being honest, right? Somebody oughta reward that honesty now and then. So, here I am. You get a whopping three points for occassional updating throughout the week. This doesn't count what I couldn't read from your archives of course. Open those babies up, and then we can talk.

posted by April at 12:00 p.m.
last entry / next entry


Opal Reviews
Contact
About
Exits
Thanks