2004-02-23

8:52 a.m.


Dull Star

Read This Diary

CONTENT 65/70
"I have spent the last hour cleaning the disgustingness that is our kitchen and our bathroom. Armed with a nail brush, Ajax, and Clorox wipes, I tackled those motherfuckers like there was no tomorrow, which, considering how many chemicals I inhaled in the process, may be true."

Can I say just how cool that is?

You write about life; plain and simple, with no strings attached. I know that when I read your entries, I'm going to be getting the real deal, which is very important. And the randomness! I'm loving the randomness, especially right here. That kind of thing usually gets on my last nerves, but you have a cohesiveness that pulls it off. Your entries read a lot like telephone conversations with a good friend: I can follow your train of thought without having to take a bunch of notes. Back in the day, however you were a little boring, but you've really kicked it up a notch. Grammar and punctuation have really improved since then, too.

STYLE 9/10
You're hilariously realistic and sarcastic, which is great (for me, anyway). I love the way you say what you feel (usually) without regrets. Your whole outlook on life is just very real, and down to earth, which is something that most people forget when they're writing out in cyberspace.

DESIGN 7/10
This layout just seems too... "asymmetrical" for me. Seriously. The image really overshadows the teensy box that holds your entries, and the little pull-down menu that you've chosen for navigation just isn't cutting it. When you're shopping for layouts (or designing one of your own), you have to be aware of the actual feel of the page. Don't just slap links and pictures down willy-nilly. There's got to be some order so that the eyes are able to follow and process all the information clearly. No, I'm not crazy, and I don't have a stick up my ass. This is just hours and hours of my graphic design class talking.

NAVIGATION 3/5
That pull-down menu really irks my nerves... I think that you could really pull off some sweet stuff if you could rearrange the design on the page. And those rings... Gahh! I applaud you for putting them on a separate page, because it would've been terrible having to load every single of one those blocks up with each new entry. But really, take the time to organize them. It's okay to have more than one page devoted to your rings. Really, it is. Just make sure you sort them according to categories that people are going to be able to recognize (i.e., music, television, deli meats...), otherwise anyone who may be interested in your rings won't be able to browse through them without getting a migraine. Just some advice.

FREQUENCY 4/5
Holy crap, you've been writing for almost four years? I think we need to hand you a Lifetime Contribution award or something, because it's very rare to see people write more than six months straight, much less four years. You've had some gaps here and there, but none of that really matters since you've been so diligent for so long... You're my inspiration.

posted by April at 8:52 a.m.
last entry / next entry


Opal Reviews
Contact
About
Exits
Thanks