2003-08-22

1:25 p.m.


Dead in Rome (Re-review)

Read This Diary

CONTENT 35/70
Sarcasm doesn't usually read well outside of dialogue, so steer clear of it. If you have to point it out, that's sloppy writing. There are better ways around it.

When you start out an entry with "I'm such a loserface," or "I'm so stupid," every chance you get, it's hard not to agree. A little self-depracation is a good thing; a lot is boring and pathetic.

STYLE 7/10
The backtrack/onward! thing is nice.

DESIGN 0/10
I say this again, like I did last time: The entire page should fit on my screen. Yes, I have a smallish monitor. But your page should be accessible to all. Your tagboard takes you over the edge, and you have six scrollies. If your page is set up right, and if that Johnny Depp pic were considerably smaller or in the background instead of part of the page, you'd probably lose all of the scrollies but one. There is so little room left for your entries that when you post pictures, I get another scrollie, and can't see all of the pic. What a pain.

You need to lose all those stupid gifs at the bottom. If you want to take stills from the movie and make them your links to the different areas of the diary, be my guest, but the gifs are distracting and irritating, and seem to be more self-serving than anything. And it's "starboard," not "starbird."

Your "older" page looks like it belongs to a different diary; I had to make sure I hadn't somehow gotten to someone else's.

NAVIGATION 4/5
It's all there, but it's waaaay waaaaay down at the bottom.

FREQUENCY 5/5
You're there, you're there.

posted by April at 1:25 p.m.
last entry / next entry


Opal Reviews
Contact
About
Exits
Thanks