2003-11-08

12:43 a.m.


Lilichild (rereview)

Read This Diary

Note: This is my diary review site. I make the rules. When I say that I'm reading ten entries total, and that three can be of the reviewee's choice, that's what I mean. Since you listed seven entries you wanted me to read, I took the first three, and read your seven most recent as the others. Also, I reread my original review before drafting this one so I wouldn't repeat myself, and also so my comments could be made in reference to the original.

CONTENT 20/70

Contrary to your belief, I did read your diary for the first review. If I wasn't planning on reading the diaries, I wouldn't have a review site for them. Considering you believe me to be "any idiot," imagine my shock when you came back to me, looking for yet another review.

I still don't like the use of song titles for your entries, but even worse is the placement of chunks of lyrics. If a person wants to know the lyrics to songs, let them go to a lyrics website. I want to read your entries. Not someone else's songs.

In this entry, you say "No god damn woman uses abortion as birth control," which I dispute. While I agree with the basic message of the entry, phrases like that that just aren't true, not to mention the use of words like "fuckwad" when far more concise terms could be used to convey your feelings, give your argument an air of misinformation and simplicity that alienate rather than inspire agreement.

My earlier admission that you use grammar correctly was clearly incorrect, and I apologize for the stumble. In this entry, you deride those who listen to Britney Spears and refuse to learn any English grammar, yet in that entry alone, I found 19 grammar, spelling, and punctuation mistakes. How on Earth are you going to collect the money from your wagers when you're lying on the ground, devolving?

Remember, I'm still working on the entries that you requested I read, so it's not as if I'm purposely choosing entries that are terrible. As far as this entry goes, the nonsensical first sentence makes plodding through the rest of the entry a real chore. What would otherwise be a good entry is ruined by a stumble out of the starting gate.

STYLE 7/10
In general, you use more words than necessary to convey simple ideas. It sounds to me like you're trying to make yourself sounds more educated and intelligent.

DESIGN 8/10
The picture is pretty, but the URL at the top of it is ugly and hard to read. Your layout doesn't take up enough of the page, but that's hardly a dockable offense.

NAVIGATION 4/5
All of your links work, and I can get where I'm going on your diary, but most of the images on your "quizzes" page are broken. So are all the ones on your "My Sites" page.

FREQUENCY 5/5
Just about every day, with a few doubles. To summarize your writing habits for the entire duration of your diary would be pointless and laborious, so I just checked the last month or so. No problems here.

posted by April at 12:43 a.m.
last entry / next entry


Opal Reviews
Contact
About
Exits
Thanks