2003-10-13

12:53 p.m.


WhisperWind

Read This Diary

CONTENT 45/70
Hmmmm... I really don't know what to say here. You're only twelve years old, so I can't really tell you to start writing entries that are more like Crime and Punishment or anything. And God knows that you're probably more interesting than I ever was at twelve... But I've still got issues with the general format. Why is it so hard for most people to understand that the day-log entries don't really make for a good diary? If your diary is meant purely for personal pleasure, hey, that's great... But if you want people to read it and have them actually take something away from it personally, this isn't going to work.

Another problem: Paragraphs. Have you figured out how to use them yet? Granted, you're only twelve, but breaking up multiple ideas into multiple paragraphs only makes sense. Am I right? So why was all of this condensed into one super-heavy paragraph? Was the return key just not working? Besides that, all the other entries were very short and choppy... Any information you give your readers at all is generally vague and random.

Word to the wise... If your diary is as important to you as it seems, take a little time and invest some personality in it. Don't slam me with what so-and-so did yesterday at the you-know-who concert. That stuff can put people to sleep.

STYLE 5/10
You're a fair-weather diarist... Sometimes I love what you've done, and sometimes, I swear, I've seen better. Give me something to prove that you can sway me the other way.

DESIGN 4/10
I really don't like this design--at all. I can see where the theme is going, but the thing that really makes me cringe is the way it's aligned. If you're going to go vertical, make sure that the columns aren't narrow. It makes your writing look squinty, and everything else just looks as though you tried to throw it in at the last minute. My layout uses a vertical orientation, if you want to get some ideas... But if you made your own wider and better organized, I could appreciate it for its full value. Otherwise, it just looks sloppy.

NAVIGATION 5/5
Navigation, Schmavigation. You've got this much at least. But again, your design just cramps your diary's style. Look for something that'll better suit your needs.

FREQUENCY 4/5
You update enough, but you're still kind of touch and go.

posted by April at 12:53 p.m.
last entry / next entry


Opal Reviews
Contact
About
Exits
Thanks