2003-07-10

6:49 a.m.


Stormy Skyz

Read This Diary

CONTENT 45/70
Capitalize the first letter in every sentence. I can't believe how much I have to remind people of this. With the advent of the Internet it seems like basic tenets of the language have fallen by the wayside, but it is still the English language, and the English language says "Capitalize!"

Don't be afraid of punctuation and capitalization in poems, either. Again, it's still the English language. I'm not a huge fan of rhyming poems, but if you're gonna do it, then keep your rhyme scheme. Don't just do it sometimes; it disorients the reader. Other than that, the poetry borders on passable. Also, I hate the phrase "emotional fuckwit." Do you know what that means, or did you just crib it from Bridget Jones's Diary without thinking about what it meant?

"Ever" is spelled "ever," not "evar." It's never spelled "evar." Sorry, couldn't resist.

You asked me to review this entry, which just smacks of self-congratulation. I'm wary of anyone who can be so confident in their assessment of the meaning of life.

STYLE 7/10
I'm not a huge fan of overuse of song titles for entry titles, especially when it's the title of a poem entry. I can picture every English teacher I've ever had dying slow deaths finding out about that. I like how the prevs and nexts say "drying off" and "soaking wet." I'm a sucker for that shit.

DESIGN 6/10
Love love love the pic at the top. You write all these entries about suicide, but you have this smiley picture of whom I assume is you in the bottom right hand corner. I don't want to trivialize your emotional problems, because God knows suicidal thoughts are always a problem, but those entries seem trite when juxtaposed with a picture like that.

NAVIGATION 0/5
If I were you I would list my archived months in reverse order. Your "prev" and "next" links don't work. Moving between entries was a big hassle.

FREQUENCY 5/5
Sometimes more than once a day, which is fine.

posted by April at 6:49 a.m.
last entry / next entry


Opal Reviews
Contact
About
Exits
Thanks