2003-08-25

5:33 p.m.


Dirty Cereal

Read This Diary

CONTENT 64/70
The first thing I would like to comment on is this entry. Your post scripts are right on the money. I must admit to you right now that seeing "stephanie is 14." scared me a little bit. Your diary was a relief though. I've read a good many early high school/late middle school diaries that are either boring as hell or use too much internet slang, cuz its liek kewl, lolz! I was quite pleased to see you don't do that. Good for you. You're not repetetive, and even if you're just talking about waking up and talking to somone, you make it sound pretty interesting. One note though, and this is a common mistake, but the grammar Nazi in me needs to bring this up, "alot" should actually be "a lot." I didn't dock any points for that, it's just that I only give full credit when I've been truly wowed. You did keep me interested though, so maybe someday you could wow me.

STYLE 6/10
I'm not really sure if confusing bunny on too much sugar counts as style, but that's kind of what I get out of your diary. Some of it's really confusing, and quite often you exhibit the manic energy of someone on speed in your writing, however, most people would take offence to that, so I said on sugar to be more politically correct. Although, if you're a punk rock monger as you claim to be, that shouldn't bother you much either. Please use capitilisation more consistently. It's not stylistically enhancing. Really, it comes across as more obnoxious than anything. And, it's a small thing, but I think it would be nice if you explained the significance of the 'i's being yellow/gold, whatever colour you want to call that.

DESIGN 6/10
The colour combination is rather odd, and not what I'd call aesthetically pleasing. The bonsai kitten makes me very sad, though I'm quite well aware that the whole site was a sick joke. I still think even the fact that people joke about that is utterly inhumane. And this layout from someone who's apparently a vegetarian? Stephanie, what are you going for here? Also, it's kind of small. Maybe the lacking width looks good on your resolution, but I work at 1280x1024, and it just looks odd. Maybe if you made the table surround everything it would look better.

NAVIGATION 2/5
It's organised and easy to find, you get credit for that, but it changes between your Archives page and your current entries, and I quite dislike these one letter links. It's rather annoying, although it's easy enough to figure out which letter is the link. And, my pet peeve, archiveth thy entries! I hate stumbling into a diary and finding a good 50 entries on one page from three months. If you're one of those people who updates two and three times daily and you have one month per archive page, that's fine, I guess, since there is a method of organisation. However, if you're going to be even semi-regular about your updates, which you are, please, please, please archive!!!

FREQUENCY 3/5
Farily regular at times, fairly not here earlier on. It pretty much balances out into an average updating schedule, earning you an average score. ::nod::

posted by April at 5:33 p.m.
last entry / next entry


Opal Reviews
Contact
About
Exits
Thanks