2003-11-25

11:29 a.m.


The Ascension

Read This Diary

CONTENT 50/70
You are highly devoted to your boyfriend. Entries like this told me that straight away. The two of you seem very close-knit and understanding, which is cool; but I kind of drowned in all the lovely-ness, you know? Some of these entries made me feel as though I was the proverbial "third wheel," and reading about the two of you almost constantly kind of made me lag behind. You express these feelings fairly well, but sometimes they were suffocating.

When you weren't busy giving me too much information, other times you tried getting by without giving me enough. I'd like to see cast page included with your diary, just so I could get the feel of the whos, whats, wheres, and whys of your entries. Reading about all the names and vague places referenced in your diary was almost like diving over Niagra Falls--just plain disorienting. After a few more reads, I got the gist of what you were saying, but it's definitely difficult for a first-timer.

Uhhh... Homicide is fun? That little tidbit was a bit jarring, but it fits your personality. It's not every day that one of your neighbors gets shot (God forbid), so I was hoping that you'd give me some more feedback on exactly what happened. But good grief--you only devoted a paragraph to the whole thing. One. Small. Paragraph. Truth be told, I'd rather read about something like that instead of your chronic fits of inner coldness.

I highly enjoyed this entry, because it does seem as though music's been kind of degraded in the last ten years (In my opinion, anyway)--so I could relate to most of that. And this entry was strangely beautiful and interesting. You had some great imagery there, I only wish you would've kept it going.

STYLE 7/10
It'd be great if you'd occassionally translate some of the Romanji you use throughout your entries. My (ex) boyfriend used to write like that all the time, and it drove me absolutely nuts (Hence the "ex"). I can only speak and read a thin amount of Japanese, so it's frustrating to try and comprehend the meaning of your entries without a decent translation. I don't want to miss out on something important, and I doubt your readers do, either. Gimme some good old bilingual stuff.

DESIGN 9/10
Hey, you've changed this since I was last here! But it's all good. Although I was starting to learn to love the "redness" of your previous layout, I think I can learn to live with this one, too. It's hauntingly simple, but wonderfully creative. Did you design this one yourself? Kudos to you, my friend. Kudos to you.

NAVIGATION 3/5
At first, the little boxes you've used as links at the top of your layout went unnoticed by my eyes. I thought it was just another pretty part of the design, but after some searching, I found what I was looking for. The little scroll-over captions helped me figure out what was what.

Is it just me, or are there no "previous" and "next" buttons in this layout? I had to keep jumping back and forth between the archives page and the current entry to get from one place to another. It'd be nice to have a more direct route (hint, hint).

FREQUENCY 2/5
I hate to score you so low, but your frequency is a bit off-kilter. There's a huge gap between the months of July and September, and you hardly explained what was going on in this entry.

posted by April at 11:29 a.m.
last entry / next entry


Opal Reviews
Contact
About
Exits
Thanks