2003-12-03

9:45 a.m.


Bandchick182

Read This Diary

CONTENT 35/70
Well, let's start with the caps. If you've read any of my reviews, you knew this was coming. The word "I" is capitalized. Always. Even if you have the best reason in the whole wide world for not wanting to, unless your name is e.e. cummings, I don't want to hear it. Even then, I might want to sit you down and try to convince you. Yes, I realize that hardly any other languages capitalize the first-person singular pronoun outside the first word of the sentence. I also realize that sometimes you don't feel worthy of capitalization. I realize that you might be making some sort of statement. So am I: Capitalize I. Always. Period. Never not capitalize it. Same thing goes with the first word in the sentence. It's a rule. Capitalize it.

As for the abundance of song lyrics: Lose them. I want to know what you think, not what Matchbox 20, or Lenny Kravitz, or Staind thinks. I can take it in your layout, but it should end there. Remove them from your entry titles; try to come up with something clever on your own. Kick them out of your entries; they don't belong there. If I want song lyrics, I'll go to a lyrics site.

And, on to your actual content. This seems like a stream-of-consciousness diary that is not without its charms. You seem to have a lot of questions that go unanswered, which I'm sure most of us relate to. However, on the other side of that coin, you seem afloat in a sea of "blah." It's hard to empathize with someone who comes off so wishy-washy in her entries. You seem depressed and bored and confused, etc., etc. I can sympathize with all of this, but frankly, it makes for a boring diary. It's like having the friend who does nothing but complain. You want to be there for her and listen to her bitching, but God! Mostly what you really want to do is hit her over the head with a happy stick.

STYLE 5/10
Lack of caps and more question marks than I can count. It ain't Shakespeare.

DESIGN 7/10
I love your picture and your layout is clean. However, those scrolling song lyrics in the bottom left hand corner are irritating and distracting. Same thing with the clock. I'm going to venture a guess and say that most of your readers have clocks on their computers, and that yours is unnecessary. The Thursday's child thing should be put on a page about you or something... it's superfluous at the bottom of every entry.

NAVIGATION 5/5
It's all there, and I can find it all.

FREQUENCY 3/5
You warned me, and I have to agree: You aren't around at all anymore. But you have a formidable body of work behind you, and I do think that counts for something.

posted by April at 9:45 a.m.
last entry / next entry


Opal Reviews
Contact
About
Exits
Thanks