2003-12-20

12:18 p.m.


rosytears

Read This Diary

CONTENT 62/70

Ok. Let me begin by saying when I first saw your diary, I was not looking forward to reviewing it. Just by the design I could tell you were very young and was expecting your typical young girl diary. Well, the title of you last entry is �Never judge a book by its cover�, and that is so true. Once I began reading your diary I realized how wrong I was. I thought that I would not be able to find any common ground on which to base my review, you having just turned 13 and I being 21 days from turning 25. Once again, I was wrong. I see so much of myself in you. I feel that I was the same way at your age: very introspective, very sad, very lovelorn, and very much hating my parents. The difference in your diary and ones of many others your age, is not your content so much as the fact that you are a writer. Believe me we can recognize our own kind. I, like you, was a tortured writer from the get go. You write very eloquently, especially considering your age, about what it is to be 13. Just know that�s what it is. Everyone is going through these same things. But be assured that pain and hurt build character, and without them, you�d have virtually nothing to write about. Well, that may not be entirely true, but nonetheless, I very much enjoyed reading your diary, because I felt as though I could have been reading my own from the same age. So I can only offer this advice � you may want to give up on everything else, but don�t ever give up on your writing or your poetry. They will be the things that help you through the roughest times ahead. The diary, journal, or notebook is the one place you can turn and know for sure that it will never judge you, abandon you, or criticize you. It will always be your friend and want to hear your stories and your heartbreaks. And even when you leave it from time to time, it will always welcome you back with open arms. Have faith, it gets better and it gets worse. The fun is just beginning.

STYLE 9/10

With the exception of a few spelling and grammatical errors, there were no problems.

DESIGN 10/10

The design is nice. It�s not my style at all, but I think a design has to fit a person�s personality and their writing style and yours definitely fills this need perfectly.

NAVIGATION 4/5

One of your cast links goes to the list of people who have your diary as a favorite, I�m not sure if you meant it that way or not, but that�s the only flaw I saw.

FREQUENCY 5/5

You update often and sometimes more than once per day, all good there.

posted by April at 12:18 p.m.
last entry / next entry


Opal Reviews
Contact
About
Exits
Thanks