2003-11-09

5:19 p.m.


mssassypants

Read This Diary

CONTENT 58/70

Well, I am not going to lie, as objective as we try to be, there are some things that a diary has that will win favor with the reviewer. In my case, I LOVE Eddie Izzard, so imagine my glee when Ms. Sassy Pants has (nearly) a 5x7 picture of him on her template.

But really, let's talk about the content. Ms. Sassy Pants is true to her name--pretty sassy, wears the pants (it seems) in the relationship with her hubby, Chad. Chad was entertaining to read about when he made his appearaces, partially because ms. sassy pants is pretty blunt about him when she's upset with him.

The things I like best about this diary is, that athough she admits that some of her entries are boring, she keeps those boring entries SHORT. As soon as I think I'm about to get bored with her entry, she's done. Hence, her boring entries are not really boring.

The entries I like best are the ones with the clever and/or intriguing titles. I mean who wouldn't want to read titles such as: When it thunders, I have to pee, Eating midgets, or Yay for Vaginas? Admittedly, I sometimes found the title was funnier than the actual entry itself.

I don't know what to really suggest other than, I guess, to make your entries a bit quirkier. Otherwise, I think you have potential for a rockin' diary. The entries might have to be spruced up a bit with some "flavor" (for lack of a better word). Maybe throw in a spice of sarcasm vis a vis Eddie Izzard style.

Yes, I feel justified in saying that.

STYLE 8/10

Reading Ms. Sassy Pants is sort of like talking to my co-worker--telling you JUST enough but not enough quirky details to be addicted to her writing style. I feel like there's more to you than what I read.

DESIGN 9/10

God, who could NOT love the Eddie Izzard picture? He's fantastic. Further, the simplicity (cluttered, over complicated diaries sort of turn me off) and the red lettering on black is great. Your diary is easy on the eyes -- especially for people like me who are nearly blind and spend about 40 hours a week in front of a computer screen.

I docked off one point because I was hoping you had some links that showed me more of your personality, but we're not all html geeks.

NAVIGATION 5/5

Why do we have this? I suppose if I clicked on a link and it said "Oops! You've reached/clicked on an error in diaryland", I would be pissed off. So since I am still in the same state/mood that I was in since clicking on the links on your site, I will give you all the points you rightly deserve.

Hooray for Navigation!

FREQUENCY 4/5

As of recently, you update like there's no tomorrow. Looking at past entries, I see there are some months where you update intermittently.

I docked you off one point here only because you seem to update with the same entry multiple times. This is sort of annoying. Delete those pesky entries-- you probably excite your buddies and subsequently disappoint them when they find out that you updated with the same exact entry.

posted by April at 5:19 p.m.
last entry / next entry


Opal Reviews
Contact
About
Exits
Thanks