2003-12-03

9:09 p.m.


Annachan

Read This Diary

CONTENT 58/70

Wow, you have a LOT of entries. But, let me be truthful, you don't have a lot to say. I should rephrase, you have a lot of activities to talk about and that can be boring. Most of your entries are basically: "This is what I did today. I ate popcorn. It was good. I watched television and then I practiced for band." I mean, I'm no angel, sometimes I write entries like that as well. However, and I'm sure many will agree, most readers are interested in what you feel about something and not what you DID. I sometimes felt like I was reading a menu of activities.

I read even further, and LO AND BEHOLD, you have potential, baby. Your best entry I have read is this. You really, really hate Algebra 2. I mean, you went so far as to make a banner that screamed how much you hate it. That's what I call passion, that's what I call style and best of all-- that entry demonstrated that you have a voice.

I admit, you get more of a grip of your voice the more you write. Usually, what I found, is that you start with your (admittedly) boring series of events you went through on a particular day. Then, near the end of the entry, you start showing highlights of what you think about certain things. In this entry, your title says your pissed, but you don't seem pissed. It's another seemingly expository entry. However, later in the entry, you compare your friendship with a watch. That one sentence had more meaning than the first paragraph alone. This is good. I feel that you just have to learn how to figure out how not to start so expository.

Many people will argue that 'sad, depressing' entries are better than the happy ones because there's no depth in the happy ones. However, I don't think that is the case. Happy entries tend to be redundant, such as (oops, I can't find the link) in your "Me? Flirt?" entry. I was expecting a good, juicy spiel about you flirting with some guy. You only mention actual flirting once and you said "fun" five times. That might not be a lot to you, but it was so repetitive to me that I actually counted how many times you said it to make this point. Again, you say something like "Sometimes I still feel attracted to him, but at least I'm not like in love with him or whatever"..again, I see a voice. You always tend to have one sentence that redeems your whole entry. Put a whole stream of those redeeming sentences and I promise you, you'll have a stellar diary.

STYLE 6/10
Again, no style in the expository things-I-did-today paragraphs. However, I did see some style in some extras. I especially like the link to your old templates (I wish I did that!) and your list of 187 things about yourself. There was one line where I believe you said "I would like to drink more Mountain Dew, but not enough places have it. What's up with that?" Again--the style emerging.

DESIGN 6/10

The counter showing how many days are left until your birthday is cute. Your picture within your template is nicely and stylishly done. I took points off for two things: 1. The title "Waiting for Tonight"--I'm sorry, any title that's a Jennifer Lopez song loses points from me as a reviewer and 2. Your words spill off the entry box which is messy and annoying.

NAVIGATION 5/5

I got everywhere! WHEEEEEEE!

FREQUENCY 5/5

You are frequent. Oh yes, very frequent.

posted by April at 9:09 p.m.
last entry / next entry


Opal Reviews
Contact
About
Exits
Thanks